It Ch’u Ji Gu

(Version in Hokkien)

It Ch’u

Ji Gu

Snar Hor

Si Thor

Goh Leng

Lark Chuar

Chit Beh

Peik Eow

Kow Kau

Charp Kay

Charp Ji Kow

Charp Ji Tu Bo Tuay Lang Chau


(Version in English)

1. Rat




5. Dragon

6. Snake

7. Horse

8. Goat

9. Monkey

10. Hen

11. Dog

12. Pig ran away with the rest.


 About this ditty:~

This is the basic of all ditties all children were taught to memorize.  It could also be one of the earliest known to exist. This ditty describes the order of the twelve animals in the Chinese Zodiac that appears before the Lord Buddha and it serves as an easy guide to determine one’s age if that someone could tell you the zodiac sign they were born in with reference to your own!

The author/owner has compiled for record, a collection of early Hokkien sayings, proverbs, rhymes and ditties to capture the essence and spirit of his hoi polloi, a community originating from the southern province of Fujian, China where individuals climbed aboard bum boats, crossing the South China Sea to settle in faraway lands to escape the brewing civil unrest and a way out from hardship carrying along with them in their journey, nothing except their trademark ponytails and their beliefs, very much rooted in Confucianism. These ditties retell their story and their lifestyle way back then so that the younger generation can gain an insight and foothold to their origin..




Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s