Lu Khnua Wa, Wa Khnua Lu

(Version in Hokkien)

Lu Khnua Wa Ho

Wa Khnua Lu Ho

Sim Lai Huan Lo

.

Lu Khnua Wa Gau

Wa Khnua Lu Gau

Nor Lay Huan Chu Thau

.

Lu Khnua Wa Ho Giak

Wa Khnua Lu Ho Giak

Nor Lay Ar Si Chay’ng Khar Khiak

.

Lu Khnua Wa Chnua

Wa Khnua Lu Chnua

Nor Lay Bo Ai Uwa

.

Lu Khnua Wa Lau

Wa Khnua Wa Lau

Nor Lay Peh Chap Ar Buay Kau

.

Lu Khnuar Wa Phnai

Wa Khnua Lu Phnai

Tu Tiok Bo Ai Ch’ai

.

Lu Khnua Wa Ay

Wa Khnua Lu Ay

Ai Bin Bay Phai Say

.

Lu Khnua Wa Beng

Wa Khnua Beng

NOr Lay Ar Si Kay Bo Heng

.

Lu Khnua Wa Swee

Wa Khnua Lu Swee

Swee Ka Hna Tiok Kwee

.

Lu Khnua Wa Tai

Wa Khnua Lu Tai

Ho Kuay Lang Bebai

.

(Version in English)

You think I am doing well

I think you are doing well

But both are worried sick!

.

You think I am clever

I think you are clever

But both are potato heads!

.

You think I am rich

I think you are rich

But both of us are still wearing clogs

.

You think I am proud

I think you are proud

We both shun one another

.

You think I am old

I think you are old

But both of us haven’t reach eighty!

.

You think I am evil

I think you are evil

Ignoring each other when we meet

.

You think I am capable

I think you are capable

Boastful and thick skinned we both are

.

You think I am brave

I think you are brave

But we are both cowards

.

You think I am pretty

I think you are pretty

Pretty till we scare the ghosts easily

.

You think I am foolish

I think you are foolish

But at least both of us are not snobbish!

.

About this Rhyme/Saying:~

This is perhaps the and most entertaining and comical of all the Hokkien Rhymes. It speaks of persona and how it conceals reality and affects the impression others have of you. The word “bebai” means “snobbish” or “to be aloof when interacting with others”.

The author/owner has compiled for record, a collection of early Hokkien sayings, proverbs, rhymes and ditties to capture the essence and spirit of his hoi polloi, a community originating from the southern province of Fujian, China where individuals climbed aboard bum boats, crossing the South China Sea to settle in faraway lands to escape the brewing civil unrest and a way out from hardship carrying along with them in their journey, nothing except their trademark ponytails and their beliefs, very much rooted in Confucianism. These proverbs and sayings has always been a guide and lesson to the many who has never been to school so as to help them steer well in the river of  life and in a way, it seeks to retell their lifestyle way back then so that the younger generation can gain an insight and foothold to their origin..

.

.

.

2 responses to “Lu Khnua Wa, Wa Khnua Lu

Leave a Reply

