human race, human waste

I was at the beach the other day

I was taken in by the tide that remains

as how I loved some twenty years ago

skimming in and out from the horizon

.

I was at the beach the other day

I was taken in by the breeze streaming

back and forth  echoing  the  foreshore

as how I loved some twenty years ago

.

until  I  found  a  box  of   leftover  pizza

until  I found  an outdated pair of jeans

until I found  a doll with a missing arm

all soaked in brine, all washed ashore

.

I was at the beach the other day

I was  taken  in, then  jolted  out  by  the

cries of  seagulls  hovering  above  me

how the waves no longer act the same

.

as how I loved some twenty years ago

.

I was at the beach the other day

and I found  some  twenty  yards  away

covered in grime as it washes  ashore

the dislocated arm of the  doll  I  found

.

and a dented torchlight that still lit up..

.

.

.

103 responses to “human race, human waste

  1. You’re even better than what I remember!!! Looks just awesome Fiveloaf!! You’re an inspiration, keep up the good work. I want my muse to return soon too!! oxo

    • yea suzie- you understand it best because you have helped clean one before- but what many have missed in my poem is not the pollution but waste- hence the title. useable things are discarded without a thought~ a pair of jeans just because it is out of fashion? at doll with arms that could be fixed and given away? a useable torchlight? and edibles like pizza? that is my message. stop the wastage..

  2. Ah now I get the link! Great imagery! I was in the Andaman and Nicobar islands once, and there was so much rubbish on the beaches! Of course the locals blamed it on Thailand.

  3. Brilliant… let’s hear this challenge and respond to it… I don’t want to waste stuff, and I don’t want to let my greed for the next thing prevent me and others from enjoying the now, and enjoying what there’s always been. :] xx

  4. Pingback: Perfect Poet Award Wk 52 | fiveloaf

  5. The environment has deterioated over the years. With our care-less attitude, I wonder how long the world will last in our hands. It’s slightly pessimistic, I know but the rate of repair is much slower than the recovery rate. Hence I do wonder at time what might be the end result.
    Thanks for bringing out the fluidity in your prose:)

Leave a Reply

