pharaoh’s grip

I dream a dream

untainted by the fouls

of man

that I could camel in the heat

without being tormented

by man

nor scorned at seeking refuge

under the olive tree

by man

.

I dream I knelt

and pray for the breath

of God

to fluff me away

from the pharaohs’ grip

by God

and away from the pyramids

which held no grain

of God

.

and let go completely..

.

.

.

37 responses to “pharaoh’s grip

  1. U dream-(formulate),
    U hope-(looking toward tomorrow),
    U pray-(in conversation with the only one that may)
    And discovered an ancient anointing.

  2. The longing for freedom from the grip of oppression, great depiction here! I enjoyed my read very much, as always. Nice work!

  3. The quest for freedom is powerful, a mind set reaching into the divine world. Your poem yearns for freedom and takes steps away from Pharaoh’s grip, seeking protection from God. Well written and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

