I can’t hold it

I watched that dew

streaming off the leaf

onto my fingertip

.

I watched that dew

streaming off my fingertip

into the pond

.

it fascinates me

to watch it drip

as its ripple sparkles the water

.

but I can’t hold it..

.

.

.

166 responses to “I can’t hold it

  1. Is it about something that is better to let go?
    The dot=the pause between stanzas… those are great in building the mood…
    This poem definitely makes me wondering… ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Beautiful verses.. Bringing out what could not be held… what needs to go in the flow of life.. I don’t know but I could relate it to something such as perception in love as well as when certain issues close to heart but yet it cannot be hold..

    Nice write.. emotional.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for stopping and yeah, am glad that I am remembered.. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Like this poem a lot. Very interesting use of the 3 line style and the constant drip of the one dot between them. Leading to a very calm mental picture as the 3 dots dripping at the end are like the drips being squeezed out from the first three verses. Clever.
    – Brian.

  4. Ah, but you DID hold it, if only for a moment! ๐Ÿ˜‰ This was an excellent captured moment, fiveloaf. I agree that there is something very zen-like about it – perhaps the association with water droplets and ripple effects, etc. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 38 (Feb 17-23) | Jingle

  6. So that is where poignancy meets reality! Excellent poem; to say so much in so few words so clearly is an accomplishment in it’s own right. Duder, I’m jealous, that was an amazing exposition of one of lifes ‘small’ events writ large. Best I’ve read so far today.

    crb.

  7. The essence of what makes beauty beauty…release and not clutching. Clutching makes for a cheapened pseudo-possession…no? Whereas beauty may be ephemeral but true.

    Thanks for sharing this poem.

  8. The title got me super curious…
    And the poem got me all WOW over it… dew… ahh… just like time… slipping / dripping…never lasting…

    Loved your verses, FL… You ROCK!! As ever!

  9. The great thing about poetry is that every reader interprets it differently, according to his or her own personal experiences. Thanks for sharing; I enjoyed the beauty of this single moment you portrayed so delicately ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Much like a moment, we can’t hold on to things we want to cherish. Sad but true, yet all the more beautiful. Thought provoking poem.

  11. Sometimes I feel as if I am walking between raindrops. Moving between dimensions, Aware of the everyday world but not of it at the moment. It is a very special time, hauntingly beautiful as your poem tells so well. Hard to describe these moments for others as we each experience them differently. Your poem does it well. Thank you!

    BTW, I like when people put their link on their comments to me as it makes it much easier to get to their blog. My computer is very slow and not having to look for their link saves me a lot of waiting time. Hugs, pat

  12. simple words to describe a simple incident yet it can be used to so many situations one might be going through…. positive or negative .. like falling in love to losing someone..
    amazing Fivey… Bravo!!!
    Cheers!!!

  13. Itยดs pretty horrible when you canยดt hold the things that fascinate you… but in some way, thatยดs exactly what makes them so special, having to let them go.

  14. Pingback: The Celebrate Poet of Spring in 2011 Awards Nomination Accouncement | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  15. Pingback: Mystic Mountain

Leave a Reply

