canopy of rain

as I watched my own reflection

staring back at me

from the puddle after a mild shower,

I asked myself if we are living

under a canopy of rain

.

as I runneth my hands over your hair

you stared at me

as you muddle over the love I shower

I asked myself if we are only playing

over that canopy of rain

.

as I watched you beam with hope & love

that stares back at me

as I fumbled in the shower

I asked myself if we are in denial

outside that canopy of rain

.

but chances are that

if we continue to bleak &  live

with the canopy of rain

hanging over our head and doorstep

let us rather cross

that threshold in mutiny

and leave that canopy of rain

behind us..

.

.

.

76 responses to “canopy of rain

  1. nice..the risk involved here is immeasurable and growing outside the canopy of rain…can, may be painful…the reward is breathtakingly beautiful…that is what I feel from this piece…today I will step outside the canopy …..thank you…bkm

  2. I like this very much. Really like the structure, different position in relation to the canopy of rain. One line I didn’t understand though, ‘If we continue to bleak and live’ in the last stanza. It’s a lovely poem.

  3. This is pure imagery and a truck load of talent!! You have a cool way with words, FL…
    I don’t think I want that canopy of rain looming over me… breaking free is more my thing 🙂 And so I totally loved the last stanza!!!

Leave a Reply

